Find your next favourite story now
Login

A CHALLENGE!

last reply
5 replies
3.7k views
0 watchers
0 likes

What should be my first writing "etude"?

2 votes
500 words narrative, Horror, with an unusual moral (0 votes) 0%
50 funny poem, all words strting with same letter (0 votes) 0%
400 half poem half narrative, waking up in morning (0 votes) 0%
300 conversation between historical figures (2 votes) 100%
Rookie Scribe
0 likes
Hi everyone!

I'm new to this site, and hoping to get my feet wet as a writer, I'm a musician-in-training but before I was interested in music I wanted to be a writer, I used to spend hours thinking up huge stories then full of enthusiasm I would sit down at the keyboard and write...

Then, once I got through the first page or so and my creative energies started to ebb I would start to edit and all the issues and options, grammar and details would torment me until I realised "No way, this is only the first page of 10,000 and it's already this hard? F*&% this!"

Ah, Youth!

So anyway, over the past couple years my focus has been almost exclusively on music, but writing was always there in the back of my mind and my favourite epic fantasies would not go away... So recently I decided to not be so passive in the realm of active creativity, I should compose and write now, not in some comfortable imagined future because developing the skills to create are probably more difficult than the skills to recreate and I should start working on those skills sooner rather than later. So, in the same way that one should first write single melody pieces then short piano pieces, quartets, symphonies THEN Wagnerian style multi part operas (Yes, I do wish to write a challenge to the Ring Cycle, so sue me!) and as one works on scales with hands seperately, then together, then arpeggios, basic pieces, the Chopin Etudes and THEN the crazy university grade pieces...

Well...

So too should one start small in the field of writing!