Find your next favourite story now
Login

Pen Names...picking, using, protecting, etc...

last reply
5 replies
3.1k views
0 watchers
0 likes
Rest in Peace
0 likes
I've been noticing a fair number of discussions concerning pen names in blogs and writing groups lately...issues like picking one, protecting that name, getting paid under that name, getting that name out there...that sort of thing...

The first, most obvious issue is picking one...this is something I really need to address myself, btw...I started writing in April, 2009 on another site and chose the name Exakta66 because I happen to collect Exakta cameras, and had always used that name for anything I did on the internet, including my e-mail account. I had been using it since about the year 2000, when everyone in the Exakta collectors group I belonged to picked Exakta related names for their e-mail addresses, so it seemed only natural to use it for writing stories...

Only one minor little problem...I found out in late 2010 that the Exakta name is an active registered trademark of Jos. Schneider in West Germany, and since I started submitting stories to paying sites in September, 2010 I realized I had to change the name I was using, and fast...my girlfriend suggested the name DirtyMartini, since she's a fan of the drink (and turned me onto them, but that's another story)...that seemed like a good idea, since I happen to write erotic stories as well...and DirtyMartini has a hint of "dirtiness" without really being "dirty"...if you know what I mean...it is, after all, a drink...

So...in October, 2010 when I joined Stories Space, I joined using the name DirtyMartini...and the first time I used that name was here, btw...and it seemed all well and good...and I started using it on other sites I post stories on, including sites of a more "adult" nature...